THE UNIVERSITY OF L’AQUILA (UNIVAQ) has 24,000 students and 644 faculty members. There are nine faculties (sciences, medicine, engineering, humanities, psychology, economics, educational sciences, physics, and biotechnology); seventeen departments; two excellence centers; and three interdepartmental research centers. The internationalization activities raised three joint Bachelor and honor Bachelor degrees, five joint Master degrees, one Erasmus Mundus Master degree, and one joint Ph.D.

The university promotes student and faculty advancement via the International Relations Office (IRO) and other services, such as Centro Linguistico. UNIVAQ and its language department offer English-language courses to all students. Many lectures are already given in English. UNIVAQ’s International Project Office warmly supports the administration’s favorable response to the EU’s call for joining the TEMPUS-EFA project. The International Project Office and IRO have already taken part in a number of international projects, such as LLP, Erasmus Mundus Master, and ECW, 8 TEMPUS, and others.